Morocco seeks to join ECOWAS



The Kingdom of Morocco has officially applied for joining the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) on Friday.

The application has been submitted to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the chairperson of the Authority of Heads of State and Government of ECOWAS and president of Liberia, the Moroccan Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a statement.

The Moroccan bid culminates Morocco’s efforts to strengthen its relations with the African regional bloc and the visits of King Mohammad VI to many ECOWAS member states, the statement noted.

Founded on May 28, 1975, the 15-member regional group aims to promote economic integration, foster the idea of collective self-sufficiency and create a common market; its member countries Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’ Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo.




Share your response with others

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s