India extends its E-Tourist visa facility to Gambia, 36 others

India has extended its e-Tourist Visa (e-TV) facility to The Gambia and 36 other countries, the country’s home ministry said in a statement today.

With this addition, the sub-continent now has a total count of 150 countries under the scheme, Indian media reported today.

The 37 more countries included in the e-TV scheme are The Gambia, Albania, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Gabon, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Iceland, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Namibia, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad & Tobago, Zambia and Zimbabwe, the statement said.

India launched the facility on November 27, 2014.

Sixteen Indian airports have been designated for providing e-TV service.

An e tourist is a visa issued electronically, which allows tourists and short-term travelers to get an Indian visa quickly and easily on-line.

Before traveling to India, visitors must have a valid Indian visa.

“Since the launch of the service more than 7.50 lakh visas have been issued under the scheme. At present on an average 3,500 e-TVs are being granted daily to foreign nationals,” the statement said.


Share your response with others

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s