Standard Newspaper editor quits

 

1378439_909194995801411_5814280781008038785_n

Lamin Njie, the Editor-In-Chief of The Standard has resigned as editor of the paper.

The young editor handed in his resignation to his employers on Wednesday, marking an end to his role as editor of the paper after  just ten months.

He said in his resignation letter: “I am writing to inform you that I am stepping down as editor of the paper with immediate effect.

“I want to place on record that my resignation has been pushed by professional disagreement. I felt the need to protect my reputation, editorial freedoms and independence.

“I leave at a time when my team and I, in my 10-month tenure, have done tremendously well for the paper. Landmark initiatives including the total upscaling of editorial content were being worked on by the young talent-driven editorial team.

“I leave with a sense of pride and satisfaction that I have consistently upheld basic journalistic values. I wish the paper well.”

The Standard newspaper is owned by Sheriff Bojang, The Gambia’s communication minister.

 

Share your response with others

